group of woman playing on green field during daytime

Hockey Ireland EYHL Women’s Division 1 2022-23

League Table

Hockey Ireland EYHL Women's Division 1 2022-23

1University College Dublin18106252272536
2Loreto Hockey Club18112540202035
3Old Alexandra18104438221634
4Catholic Institute1896338251333
5Pembroke Wanderers187653022827
7Railway Union1874739251425
10Belfast Harlequins1802161379-662

League Table Calculated Automatically from results. Please visit Hockey Ireland website at Reference: [1] for Official Table.

Results and Fixtures

Match Day Round 1

Match Day Round 2

Match Day Round 1 Rescheduled

Match Day Round 3

Match Day Round 3 Rescheduled

Match Day Round 4

Match Day Round 5

Match Day Round 6

Match Day Round 8 Pre-Scheduled

Match Day Round 7

Match Day Round 8

Match Day Rescheduled

Match Day Round 9

Match Day Round 10

Match Day Round 11

Match Day Round 12

Match Day Round 13

Match Day Round 14

Match Day Rescheduled

Match Day Round 15

Match Day Rescheduled

Match Day Round 16

Match Day Rescheduled

Match Day Round 17

Match Day Rescheduled

Match Day Round 18

Results compiled from results and fixtures in References: [1-3] Please visit the Hockey Ireland website at for Official Results and Fixture list.

Round by Round Reports

Rounds 1-6 (September-October 2022)

Limerick Club Catholic Institute held a slight one-point lead over Loreto Hockey Club from Rathfarnham in Dublin 14; Old Alexandra from Milltown in Dublin 6; and University College Dublin after six rounds of the 2022-23 Hockey Ireland EYHL Women’s Division 1. Belfast club Pegasus were fifth, three points further back on nine; Pembroke Wanderers from Dublin 4 were on seven points; Monkstown from Co. Dublin on six points along with Railway Union from Sandymount, Dublin 4. Ards from Co. Down on five points and Belfast Harlequins with no points propped up the table. [References: 1-3]

Round 7 (12 November 2022)

Catholic Institute continued to set the pace with a 3-2 victory over Ards who lost despite the heroics of two-goal Z Malseed. The win put Limerick club four points ahead although nearest rivals Loreto Hockey Club from Rathfarnham in South Dublin had one game in hand. Loreto themselves had a narrow one-goal win over UCD who remained on 12 points as did Old Alex who lost 2-1 at Sandymount’s Railway Union. Pembroke Wanderers won 2-1 versus Monkstown to move above Pegasus on goal difference with 10 points after Pegasus drew at fellow Belfast club Harlequins. The point was Belfast Harlequins first of the season. [References: 1-5]

Round 8 (19 November 2022)

With Catholic Institute having pre-played their Round 8 game Loreto Hockey Club took the chance to move to within one point of the leaders with a 1-0 victory at Railway Union. UCD moved into third with a massive 9-0 win over Belfast Harlequins who remain four points adrift at the bottom. Old Alex in fourth and Pembroke Wanderers in fifth played out a 2-2 draw in DLR while Monkstown moved up one place above Railway Union into seventh with a 3-0 defeat of Ards who were now four points behind Railway Union in ninth. [References: 1-3; 6]

Hockey Stock Image

group of woman playing on green field during daytime
Photo by Pixabay on

About Hockey Ireland

Hockey Ireland is the National Governing Body for Men’s and Women’s Field Hockey throughout the island of Ireland. The Association was formed in 2000 from two pre-existing Association governing Men’s and Ladies Hockey. [References: 4]

About the Hockey Ireland EYHL Women’s Division 1 2022-23

The 2022-23 Hockey Ireland EYHL Women’s Division 1 features 10 teams playing a double round-robin season for 18 games in total. The season runs from 17 September 2022 to 1 April 2023. The top two teams qualify for the Semi-Finals and teams placed three to six for the Quarter-Finals with the Final scheduled for 23 April 2023.

The teams come from three of the four Provinces of Ireland, with Dublin in Leinster Province providing six teams, all from the southside of the city: Pembroke Wanderers from Serpentine Avenue, Dublin 4; Railway Union from Sandymount, Dublin 4; University College Dublin, also Dublin 4; Old Alex from Milltown, Dublin 6; Loreto Hockey Club, Rathfarnham, Dublin 14, and Monkstown from Co. Dublin. Three Ulster Clubs – Pegasus and Belfast Harlequins from Belfast, Co. Antrim and Ards from Co. Down; plus Limerick’s Catholic Institute from Munster Province make up the 10 teams.


[1] Hockey Ireland (2022) EYHL Table Women’s [Internet] Available from: [Last Accessed 23 November 2022]

[2] Hockey Ireland (2022) EYHL Schedule [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 19 October 2022][Last Accessed 12 November 2022]

[3] Hockey Ireland (2022) EYHL Results [Internet] Available from:  [Accessed 23 November 2022]

[4] Hockey Ireland (2022) About Us [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 5 November 2022]

[5] Hockey Ireland (2022) EY Hockey League Round 7 & EY2 Recap [Internet] Available from:  [Accessed 18 November 2022]

[6] Hockey Ireland (2022) EY Hockey League Round 8 & EY2 Recap [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 23 November 2022]


Thanks to Margaret Williams (UCD).


Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 23 November 2022

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2022

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved. The Logos and Photos used in this article remain the property of the organisations and individuals which own the copyright and are used here for educational and information purposes only.

Leave a Reply