Intense Football League 2004-2008

Intense Football League Logo [Reference: 4]

IFL 2004

*Amarillo Dusters1613301076853.813
*Lubbock Lonestars16970928804.583
Odessa Roughnecks16970818762.583
San Angelo Stampede16970630660.583
Corpus Christi Hammerheads16880747655.500
El Paso Rumble160160525987.000
Intense Football League Standings 2004 [Reference: 1]
DateHome TeamAway Team
Intense Bowl 1
2004Amarillo Dusters62Lubbock Lonestars47
Intense Football League Playoffs 2004 [Reference: 1]

IFL 2005

Results / Table currently unknown.

IFL 2006

*Odessa Roughnecks141220927733.857
*Corpus Christi Hammerheads14950723686.643
Central Texas Barracudas14860755746.571
Louisiana Swashbucklers14860853760.571
San Angelo Stampede143110588820.214
Laredo Lobos142120655768.143
Intense Football League Standings 2006 [Reference: 2]
DateHome TeamAway Team
Intense Bowl 2
12.08.2006Odessa Roughnecks97Corpus Christi Hammerheads56
Intense Football League Playoffs 2006 [Reference: 2]

IFL 2007

*Louisiana Swashbucklers141310797441.938
*Corpus Christi Hammerheads141220667634.857
Frisco Thunder14860745603.571
Odessa Roughnecks14860715695.571
Katy Ruff Riders14770722715.500
San Angelo Stampede Express144100631622.286
Central Texas Barracudas142120457697.142
Alaska Wild142120509764.142
Intense Football League Standings 2007 [Reference: 3]
DateHome TeamAway Team
Intense Bowl 3
11.08.2007Louisiana Swashbucklers46Corpus Christi Hammerheads27
Intense Football League Playoffs 2007 [Reference: 3]


Amarillo Dusters won the first Intense Bowl 62-47 against Lubbock Lonestars, then Corpus Christi Hammerheads lost the next two, 97-56 in an extremely high-scoring game, to Oddessa Rouhnecks and 46-27 in Intense Bowl 3 to Louisiana Swashbucklers.

About IFL (2004-2008)

The Intense Football League of 2004-2008 was a Texas-based American Indoor Football League, with 6-8 teams. It merged with United Indoor Football – a Midwest League – in 2009 to form the Indoor Football League (see: )

About Indoor Football

Indoor Football, also known as Arena Football was developed in 1986 as an 8v8 form of Indoor American Football. After an initial few seasons where the game was developed with a 4 team league, a full seasons League with eventually over a dozen teams was developed in the 1990 which was considered by the Wall Street Journal to be a fifth major.

The Arena Football League over-expanded in the 2000s with a Minor League, and its importance (and number of teams) waned since it first experienced financial diffulties  in 2009, and it ceased operations after the 2019 season due to the legacy debt incurred.

There is now, however, Indoor Football Leagues all over America, all of which would now be considered Minor League or Semi-Pro (AAA, AA, or even A)

Indoor Football is played on a 50-yard field with two 8-yard endzones, and teams have 5 downs (attempts) to reach the endzone or the ball is turned over. 3 of those downs must be passing plays, making Indoor Football highly explosive and high scoring.


Internet Archive

[1] Intense Football League | Wayback Machine (2004) Index [Internet] Available from:[Accessed 18 February 2020]

[2] Intense Football League | Wayback Machine (2006) Index [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 18 February 2020]

[3] Intense Football League | Wayback Machine (2007) Index [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 18 February 2020]


[4] Roblox (2004) Intense Football League Profile [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 18 February 2020]


Thanks to Todd Zboyan.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American and World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 18 February 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Resereved.

Leave a Reply