Canadian Football League Timeline 1869-present

Canadian Football League Logo 2003-2015 [Ref: 3]

Canadian Football Teams 1869-present

NumberTeamsYears Active
Provincial Rugby Football Unions Era 1869-1908
1Hamilton Football Club1869-??
2Montreal Football Club1872-??
3Toronto Argonauts1873-??
4Ottawa Football Club1876-??
5Winnipeg Football Club1879-??
6Hamilton Tigers1907-1949
7Ottawa Rough Riders1907-1997
8Calgary City RFC1907-??
9Edmonton City RFC1907-??
Canadian Rugby Union Era
10Regina Rugby Club1910-??
11Winnipeg Blue Bombers1930-present
12Edmonton Eskimoes1938-present
13Hamilton Wildcats??-1949
14Calgary Stampeders1945-present
15Saskatchewan Roughriders1946-present
16Montreal Alouettes1946-1981; 1996-present
17Hamilton Tiger-Cats1950-present
18British Columbia Lions1954-present
Canadian Football League USA Era 1958-1999
19Atlantic Schooners1982-present
20Montreal Concordes1982-1986
21Sacramento Gold Miners1993-1995
22Las Veags Passe1994
23Baltimore Football Club1994
24Shreveport Pirates1994-1995
25Baltimore Stallions1995
26Birmingham Barracudas1995
27Memphis Mad Dogs1995
Canadian Football League XFL Era 2000-present
28Ottawa Renegades2002-2006
29Ottawa REDBLACKS2014-present
Canadian Football League Timeline 1869-present [Ref: 1-3]

Note: The Atlantic Schooners were formed in 1982, but have had trouble building a stadium, and have focussed since then on promoting Canadian Football in the Maritime Provinces by hosting Preseason and Regular Season CFL games. Halifax City Council approved a plan for a stadium in 2019.

Note 2: The Grey Cup (the Canadian Football League Championship Game) has been played for since 1909.

Note 3: The Canadian Football Council broke away from the Canadian Rugby Union in 1958 and renamed itself the Canadian Football League.

Note 4: The CFL attempted to establish teams in the United States in the 1990s. Only the Baltimore franchise was successful, and was moved to Montreal and renamed the Alouettes after the other four teams folded after the 1995 season.


[1] Maher, Todd & Gill, Bob (2013) Canadian Pro Football Encyclopedia Historical Highlights pg. 1-2. Maher Sports Media, 2013.


[2] Canadian Football League (2019) Welcome to the new online home of the Atlantic Schooners [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 6 March 2020]


[3] Pinterest (2019) Canadian Football League Logo (2003-2015) [Internet] Available from: [Accessed 10 March 2019]


Thanks to Robert Burns.

About this document

Researched, compiled and written by Enda Mulcahy for the

Eirball | Irish North American & World Sports Archive

Last Updated: 7 March 2020

(c) Copyright Enda Mulcahy and Eirball 2020

You may quote this document in part provided that proper acknowledgement is given to the authors. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply